LazoGanadores de Champions LeagueOtro

Club secured 22nd league title 35 years ago

NEWS STORY. 14/06/2022

Real Madrid claimed the title on 14 June 1987 following a 3-1 away success over Zaragoza.

Real Madrid captured their 22nd league title 35 years ago today. After beating Zaragoza at La Romareda (3-1) on the penultimate matchday of the season, on 14 June 1987, the team mathematically sealed the title. Butragueño's brace and a goal from Solana were enough for the Madridistas to land the league title.

That 1986/87 campaign featured a different format, as it involved a final play-off system. After being ranked as the best team in the first 34 rounds, Real Madrid led the top six teams that faced off to determine the league winners. At the end of the longest league season (44 matches), Real Madrid were the team with the most points (66), ahead of Barcelona (63). 

Hugo Sánchez claims Pichichi Trophy
Real Madrid were the top scorers in the championship with 84 goals to their name and Hugo Sánchez won the Pichichi Trophy after hitting 34 goals. Leo Beenhakker's squad secured the title, which represented the first of the coach's three league crowns in this, his maiden season in the Whites' hotseat.

Video.Club secured 22nd league title 35 years ago