Campeones de la Copa en 1947

Seventy-fourth anniversary of club's ninth Spanish Cup crown

See video

NEWS | 22/06/2021

On 22 June 1947, Real Madrid successfully defended its crown following victory over Espanyol.
Seventy-four years ago today, Real Madrid lifted the club's ninth Spanish Cup trophy as the team reclaimed the crown secured in the previous edition. The Whites faced Espanyol in the 1947 final and ran out 2-0 winners in a contest played at Riazor. The showpiece proved to be an even affiar and the game was ultimately decided in extra time. Our team claimed glory in the second half of extra time courtesy of strikes from Vidal and Pruden.

En route to the final, Baltasar Albéniz's Real Madrid accounted for Ferrol, Betis, Castellón and Athletic Club in two-legged ties.

2-Real Madrid: Bañón, Pont, Corona, Clemente, Molowny, Alsúa, Huete, Ipiña, Vidal, Pruden, Barinaga.
0-Espanyol: Trias, Fàbregas, Mariscal, Casas, Rosendo Hernández, Llimós, Celma, Galobart, Hernández, Calvo, Jorge.

1-0 (min. 106): Vidal.
2-0 (min. 119): Pruden.