Forty-eighth anniversary of 12th Spanish Cup triumph

Real Madrid put Barcelona to the sword in the final at the Vicente Calderón on 29 June 1974.
Real Madrid won their 12th Spanish Cup on 29 June 1974 after a brilliant performance at the Vicente Calderón against Barcelona. The Clásico was one-sided, with Santillana giving The Whites an early lead after just six minutes. In the second half, RubiñánAguilar and Pirri capped off the 4-0 win and sealed the title for Madrid. Zoco, who retired at the end of the season, came onto the pitch in the last minutes to collect his last trophy as a Real Madrid player.

Luis Molowny's side had a great season with a spectacular record of 26 goals scored in sevn games. In order to reach the final, the madridistas had to get past Betis in the round of 16, Granada in the quarter-finals and UD Las Palmas in the semi-finals.

4-Real Madrid: Miguel Ángel, Rubiñán, Benito, José Luís (Touriño, 85’), Velázquez, Del Bosque, Pirri, Macanás, Aguilar, Grosso (Zoco, 85’) and Santillana.

0-Barcelona: Sadurní, De la Cruz, Gallego, Rifé, Asensi (Martí, 55’), Marcial, Costas, Juan Carlos, Rexach, Clares and Juanito.

 (min. 6): Santillana.
 (min. 47): Rubiñán.
 (min. 50): Aguilar.
 (min. 83): Pirri.

This browser does not support the video element.