Unicaja - Real Madrid

The Youth A team, champions of the 2015 Mini Cup

NEWS | 22/02/2015

The Real Madrid youth squad won the title in Las Palmas for the third successive year after beating Unicaja in the final 60-83.
The Youth A team won the 2015 Endesa Mini Cup that was played alongside the Copa del Rey at the Centro Insular in Las Palmas. Real Madrid put the finishing touch to an extraordinary championship by winning the title after defeating Unicaja de Málaga in the final by a conclusive 60-83, with a superb performance from the MVP Kareem Queeley (36 points, 13 rebounds and a PIR of 43).

The Whites began to win the final in the first quarter. They came out strong and after a run of 7-0 ended the quarter at 12-24. Queeley was already showing that this would be his match. The Madrid player took on the burden of the team and offered up a memorable performance. He left the court to applause from a packed Centro Insular de Deportes stadium.

Real Madrid reached half-time with a 12 point advantage. They really pressed Unicaja in the third quarter with the drive of Lucas Muñoz, their leading scorer with 24 points. However, in the final quarter, Madrid decided the game with 14-30 run. Queeley notched up 36 points, 13 rebounds and a PIR of 43, whilst Jorge Viejo (17 points) and an in-form Usman Garuba (10 points and 19 rebounds) also supported him in getting the win.

Florentino Pérez attended the final
The Real Madrid president watched the Youth A final at the stadium and afterwards congratulated the players out on the court. Also, he took photos with the players and fans at the pavilion. The first team players Reyes, Sergio Rodríguez, Slaughter and K. C. Rivers were also keen not to miss out on the game.

Unicaja de Málaga 60 (12+20+14+14): Montiel  (5) Hernández (2), Muñoz (24), Pérez (4) and Nnaemeka (21).--starting five--; Scariolo (2), Cabello (0), Domínguez (0), Garcia (0), Johnson (0), León (0) and A. Domínguez (0).
Real Madrid 83 (24+20+9+30): Gómez (4), Mejías (9), Zivanoniv (3), Queeley (36) and Garuba (10) --starting five--; Viejo (17), Atienza (2), Becker (0), Gil (0), Sajantila (0), Sánchez (0) and Lastra (2).