Campeones de liga en 1976

On this day, the club secured its 17th LaLiga title

See video

NEWS | 09/05/2020

Real Madrid clinched the crown after claiming a 2-1 win at Granada.
Forty-four years ago today, Real Madrid secured the club's 17th LaLiga crown. On 9 May 1976, in the penultimate fixture of the season, the team mathematically sealed the title after running out 2-1 away winners over Granada at Los Cármenes, a victory that came courtesy of goals from Macanás and Breitner. This title triumph saw the Whites successfully defend the crown they had lifted in the previous campaign.
Real Madrid finished that 1975/76 LaLiga season with a five-point buffer on Barcelona. Miljan Miljanic's charges boasted the meanest defence in the division (26 goals), with goalkeeper Miguel Ángel landing the Zamora Trophy (awarded to the custodian to concede the fewest top-flight goals). The squad's leading scorer was Pirri, with 13 goals to his name. This LaLiga title was the third of the six captured during the 70s.