LazoGanadores de Champions LeagueOtro

First anniversary of the Decimocuarta

NEWS STORY. 28/05/2023

Real Madrid beat Liverpool 1-0 in Paris on 28 May 2023 to win a historic Champions League featuring some unforgettable comebacks at the Bernabéu.

Real Madrid were crowned European Cup kings once again by winning their 14th European Cup in Paris a year ago. Our team beat Liverpool 1-0 at the Stade de France, also the scene of the Octava. A second-half goal from Vini Jr. and saves from final MVP Courtois decided the game against the English side. 

On the road to the final, the madridistas faced Inter Milan, Sheriff and Shakhtar Donetsk in the Group Stage. From there, our team had a spectacular run through the knockout stages. In the Round of 16 they faced PSG and, after losing in Paris, Real Madrid staged a great comeback at the Bernabéu with a hat-trick from Benzema. It was the first magical night of that edition at home, which would be repeated in the second leg of the quarter-finals against Chelsea. Real Madrid scored in the 80th minute through Rodrygo to send the game into extra time, where Benzema secured their place in the next round.

The semi-final against Manchester City was also scripted like a blockbuster movie. After losing 4-3 in the first leg, and when all seemed lost in the return leg with the 0-1 scoreline in 89', the Bernabéu experienced another epic moment with Rodrygo's double in just two minutes. In extra time, Benzema scored the penalty that gave us a place in the final of the Decimocuarta. This title put the finishing touch to a great season. Led by Ancelotti, who became the first coach to win four Eorpean Cups, Real Madrid also won LaLiga and the Spanish Super Cup.

Alisson, Alexander-Arnold, Konaté, Van Dijk, Robertson, Henderson (Keita, 77'), Fabinho, Thiago (Firmino, 77'), Salah, Mané and Luis Díaz (Diogo Jota, 65').
1- Real Madrid: Courtois, Carvajal, Militao, Alaba, Mendy, Valverde (Camavinga, 85'), Casemiro, Modrić (Ceballos, 90'), Kroos, Benzema and Vini Jr. (Rodrygo, 93').

 (min. 59): Vini Jr.

Referee: Clément Turpin (France).
Stadium: Stade de France, Paris.

Video.First anniversary of the Decimocuarta