LazoGanadores de Champions LeagueOtro
Campeones de Liga

Thirty-second anniversary of club's 25th LaLiga title

NEWS STORY. 15/04/2022

Real Madrid secured the league honours for a fifth season in a row.

Thirty-two years have passed since Real Madrid captured the club's 25th LaLiga title. On 15 April 1990, our team mathematically clinched the title with four matchdays remaining after playing out a 0-0 draw with Valladolid at the Estadio José Zorrilla. This title triumph proved to be the last of the five consecutive league successes enjoyed by the Quinta del Buitre, a record that saw the team equal the feat achieved by the Madrid side that claimed five successive league crowns between 1961 and 1965.

John Toshack's title-winning charges ended the season on 62 points and ahead of Valencia, who amassed 53 points. In addition, the team set a new goalscoring record (107) and went unbeaten at the Santiago Bernabéu (17 wins and two draws). Hugo Sánchez landed the Pichichi Trophy (as the league's leading marksman) and the Golden Boot after hitting 38 goals.