1. Close
    La LigaMatchday 18
    Live the match inEstadio Santiago Bernabéu
    Real MadridReal Madrid
    Match Information
    La Liga, Matchday 18
      Estadio Santiago Bernabéu
    Buy Hospitality tickets


  2. Close
    EuroleagueMatchday 13
    Live the match inWiZink Center
    Real MadridReal Madrid
    Match Information
    Euroleague, Matchday 13
      WiZink Center



Select your preferred platform to buy your tickets.

Alfredo Di Stéfano

On this day, the club claimed its first Intercontinental Cup

See video

NEWS | 04/09/2019

Real Madrid secured their first world crown back in 1960 after overcoming Peñarol.
On 4 September 1960, Real Madrid captured the inaugural Intercontinental Cup after prevailing over Montevideo outfit Peñarol. The Whites came out on top against the Copa Libertadores winners in a two-legged tie. The first leg was played on Uruguayan soil, where the teams played out a goalless stalemate.

The return clash at the Bernabéu was a completely different story as Real Madrid eased to a 5-1 win in front of their fans. The Whites came racing out of the blocks and found themselves three goals to the good inside the opening 10 minutes. A Puskas brace and a Di Stéfano effort after he redirected a shot from the Hungarian forward put the hosts firmly in command, whilst Herrera and Gento rounded off the scoring.
Seven-time world crown winners
Fifty-nine years on from that maiden triumph, Real Madrid have seven world crowns to their name: three secured under the Intercontinental Cup format and a further four in the competition's current Club World Cup guise. The latest of these successes came last December in the United Arab Emirates.

5-Real Madrid: Domínguez, Marquitos, Santamaría, Pachín, Vidal, Zárraga, Herrera, Del Sol, Di Stéfano, Puskas, Gento.
1-Peñarol: Maidana, Pino, William Martínez, Majewski, Salvador, Aguerre, Cubilla, Linazza, Hohberg, Spencer, Borges.

1-0 (min. 3): Puskas.
2-0 (min. 4): Di Stéfano.
3-0 (min. 9): Puskas.
4-0 (min. 44): Herrera.
5-0 (min. 51): Gento.
5-1 (min. 66): Spencer.

Referee: Ken Aston (England).
Stadium: Santiago Bernabéu.