1. Close
    La Liga Matchday 9
    Live the match in Santiago Bernabéu
    Real MadridReal Madrid
    Match Information
    La Liga, Matchday 9
    Santiago Bernabéu

    Sharefacebooktwittergoogle +

  2. Close
    Euroleague Matchday 1
    Live the match in Wizink Center
    Real MadridReal Madrid
    Match Information
    Euroleague, Matchday 1
    Wizink Center

    Sharefacebooktwittergoogle +


Select your preferred platform to buy your tickets.

Cristiano Ronaldo, Balón de Oro 2016

Cristiano Ronaldo wins his fourth Ballon d'Or

See gallerySee video

NEWS | 12/12/2016

The forward lifted the Champions League with Real Madrid and was a European Championship winner with Portugal.
Cristiano Ronaldo has been crowned the 2016 Ballon d'Or, as announced this evening by the body that awards the accolade, the magazine France Football. Real Madrid and Portugal's all-time leading goalscorer receives the distinction for the fourth time in his career, after been recognised in 2008, 2013 and 2014. The Board Room at the Santiago Bernabéu was the venue chosen for the presentation of the award. Cristiano scooped the accolade after earning 745 points in the votes cast by journalists from the FIFA-affiliated federations. This tally saw Ronaldo outperform Lionel Messi (316) and Antonoine Griezmann (198), who finished in second and third respectively.

The madridista striker, who is also the leading marksman in European Cup history and the only player to have scooped four Golden Shoe crowns, was named as the world's best player on the back of a sensational year. During 2016 he lifted the  Champions League and the UEFA Super Cup with Real Madrid and won Euro 2016 with Portugal, whilst also clinching the UEFA Best European Player award for the second time. In addition, during the course of this calendar year, he has netted 38 times for the Whites and has notched 13 goals for his national side. 

The other madridistas
The list of nominees for the 2016 Ballon d'Or featured a further five members of the Whites' squad. Gareth Bale finished in sixth place (60 points) and Pepe in ninth (8), whilst Toni Kroos and Luka Modric were awarded joint 17th place, with a point apiece. Sergio Ramos and 10 other players made the 30-strong list of nominees, but failed to claim any of the votes.