Campeones de la Copa en 1975

On this day, the football team won their 13th Copa de España

See video

NEWS | 05/07/2020

Real Madrid beat Atlético in a penalty shootout at the Vicente Calderón.
Today marks 45 years since Real Madrid's football team won their 13th Copa de España. Their final opposition were Atlético de Madrid, in a clash played on the 5th of July 1975 at the Vicente Calderón. The game finished goalless, with the Whites going on to get the better of their rivals in a penalty shootout (4-3). Amancio, Pirri, Rubiñán and Aguilar converted from the spot for the madridistas.

Before making it to the Vicente Calderón showpiece, our team came through a two-legged last-sixteen tie with Orense; they beat Las Palmas in the quarter-finals after coming back from a 4-0 loss in the first leg, before knocking out Zaragoza in the semi-finals. The squad was led by Miljan Miljanic, who clinched a League and Copa double in that campaign.

0-Real Madrid: Miguel Ángel, Rubiñán, Camacho, Touriño (Heredia, 99'), Vitoria, Del Bosque, Pirri, Roberto Martínez (Aguilar, 104'), Amancio, Uría and Santillana.
0-Atlético: Reina, Marcelino, Panadero Díaz, Eusebio, Leal (Melo, 106'), Irureta, Alberto, Adelardo (Salcedo, 83'), Benegas, Gárate and Becerra.

Penalty shootout:
0-0: Irureta, Miguel Ángel save.
1-0: Amancio.
1-1: Gárate.
2-1: Pirri.
2-1: Salcedo, post.
2-1: Del Bosque, missed.
2-2: Alberto.
3-2: Rubiñán.
3-3: Becerra.
4-3: Aguilar.