LazoGanadores de Champions LeagueOtro

Castilla slip to defeat in San Fernando

MATCH REPORT. 25/02/2023. Eduardo Olivera. Photographer: Antonio Quintero

Peter and Arribas put the reserve team ahead, but the hosts reversed the score in the closing minutes.

Real Madrid Castilla failed to earn any points against San Fernando in their visit to the Iberoamericano 2010. After a goalless first half, Peter put our team ahead at the start of the second half and Arribas increased the lead in the 62nd minute. However, the home side turned the game around with three goals in the last quarter of an hour. Castilla, who have gone 18 games unbeaten and are still in the playoff positions, will host Rayo Majadahonda next Sunday (6:00 pm CET).

The first chance fell to San Fernando with a shot that Rafa Marín managed to clear. The second team's response came from the Madrid defender himself. First, he tried a header from Peter's cross that failed to find the target (14'). Ten minutes later, another shot ended up in the hands of the rival goalkeeper. Shortly before the break, De Luis kept the score level with two good saves.

No joy for Castilla
After the re-start, Dani Aquino almost put the hosts ahead but his effort came crashing back off the crossbar. Castilla then broke the deadlock. Álvaro Martín got on the end of a pin-point cross by Peter to head in the opener in the 53rd minute (0-1). Arribas increased the lead nine minutes later. Castilla's top scorer picked up a rebound in the rival area, his shot took a deflection off a defender and ended up in the back of the net. However, the home side turned the scoreline around in the final minutes of the game. David Ramos scored a brace with a long-range effort and a bicycle kick and Biabiany scored from the penalty spot to make it 3-2.

Video.3-2: Castilla slip to defeat in San Fernando

3-San Fernando: Fassi, Luis Ruiz, Farrando, Molina, Gabarre, Aquino (Del Campo, 75’), David Ramos, Ilyas, Gabri Martínez (Biabiany, 66’), Lanchi and José Carlos Ramírez.
2-Castilla: De Luis, Rafa Marín, Carrillo, Mario Martín, Noel (Iker Bravo, 65’), Arribas, Peter (Theo, 65’), Álvaro Martín (Aranda, 86’), Marvel (Edgar, 78’), Obrador and Álex Jiménez (Nico Paz, 86’).
0-1 (min. 53): Peter.
0-2 (min. 62): Arribas.
1-2 (min. 78): David Ramos.
2-2 (min. 80): David Ramos.
3-2 (min. 85): Biabiany (penalty)