LazoGanadores de Champions LeagueOtro
Balón de Oro 2022

Real Madrid’s Ballon d’Or winners

NEWS STORY. 17/10/2022

Di Stéfano, Kopa, Ronaldo, Zidane, Figo, Owen, Cannavaro, Kaká, Cristiano Ronaldo, Modrić and Benzema make up the legendary group of players.

Karim Benzema’s Ballon d’Or award success makes him the latest in a long list of Real Madrid players to have claimed the coveted trophy, which is awarded by France Football. Prior to the Frenchman, no fewer than 10 players won the prize during their time at our club, with Luka Modrić the most recent recipient, in 2018.

Alfredo Di Stéfano was the first madridista Ballon d’Or winner. The Saeta Rubia, who left his mark on a whole generation with the iconic five-time European Cup-winning team, landed the Ballon d’Or in 1957 and 1959. In addition, he is the only player to have won the Super Ballon d’Or, which recognises the greatest player in the history of European football (1989). Kopa, who shared a dressing room with Di Stéfano, clinched the distinction in 1958 to strengthen the madridista dominance of the award.
Cristiano Ronaldo’s five Ballons d’Or
Other players who feature in the list of madridista Ballon d’Or winners is Zidane, who was crowned in 1998 and claimed the award from Ronaldo Nazário, who landed the prize in 1997 and again in 2002. The next players to follow in the Brazilian’s footsteps were Figo (2000), Owen (2001), Cannavaro (2006) and Kaká (2007), while Cristiano Ronaldo is worthy of special moment. Real Madrid’s all-time leading goalscorer secured the Ballon d’Or on five occasions: 2008, 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2017.