LazoGanadores de Champions LeagueOtro
Supercopa de Europa 2002

The European Super Cup victory over Feyenoord


NEWS | 11/08/2014 | Javier García

Real Madrid won the trophy in 2002 by winning 3-1 in Monaco.
Ancelotti’s team are looking to follow in the footsteps of the Real Madrid side that won the club’s ninth European Cup, by winning the European Super Cup once more. It was in 2002, three months after the legendary Zidane goal in Glasgow, when the Whites lifted the trophy. To do so, they beat Feyenoord 3-1 in a match in Monaco.

The Madrid side took the initiative early on. Only fifteen minutes had passed when Roberto Carlos joined the attack set up the first goal. The Brazilian whipped a cross in and Paauwe scored an own goal.

Six minutes later, the left-back appeared again to make it 2-0. In the second half, the Dutch team cut the deficit, with a Van Hooijdonk free-kick, but Guti sealed the 3-1 scoreline with a header.

3- Real Madrid: Casillas, Salgado, Hierro, Helguera, Roberto Carlos, Cambiasso (Pavón, 88’), Makelele, Figo, Guti (Portillo, 70’), Zidane (Solari, 85’) and Raúl.
1- Feyenoord: Zoetebier, Emerton, Gyan (Buffel, 71’), Paauwe, Rzasa, Van Wonderen, Bosvelt, Kalou, Ono, Van Hooijdonk and Lurling.

1-0 (min. 15): Paauwe, o.g.
2-0 (min. 21): Roberto Carlos.
2-1 (min. 56: Van Hooijdonk.
3-1 (min. 60): Guti.

Referee: Hugh Dallas (Scotland).
Stadium: Louis II (Monaco).