LazoGanadores de Champions LeagueOtro
Real Madrid -  Al Ain

Real Madrid become first club to lift Club World Cup for third time in row


NEWS | 23/12/2018

Santos, Inter Milan, AC Milan and Sao Paulo secured back-to-back titles.
Real Madrid, who have now been crowned world champions for the seventh time, have, with their last triumph, broken new ground in the game after becoming the first-ever club to claim the world title for a third successive year. No other team has managed to secure the Club World Cup or Intercontinental Cup in three consecutive seasons.

This run of victories began back in 2016, when they overcame Mexican outfit América and Japan's Kashima Antlers to lift the first of the trio of titles. Meanwhile, a year later, they repeated the feat after seeing off Al Jazira and Brazilian side Gremio. This time around, they prevailed over Kashmina Antlers and Abu Dhabi's Al Ain.

Successful title defence
This sequence of triumphs has seen Real Madrid eclipse the achievements of the other teams who claimed back-to-back Intercontinental Cup titles. The first of these teams was Pelé's Santos in 1962 and 1963. Inter Milan matched this feat after they saw off Independiente de Avellaneda in both 1964 and 1965. Elsewhere, AC Milan reigned supreme in 1989 and 1990, whilst Sao Paulo tasted glory in 1992 and 1993.