LazoGanadores de Champions LeagueOtro
Sergio Ramos

The eleven madridista World Cup winners

NEWS | 15/07/2018

Varane is the latest to add his name to this list.
The World Cup in Russia has seen another Real Madrid player crowned world champion. Varane’s France beat Modric and Kovacic’s Croatia in the final. Throughout history, there are now 11 players who have won a World Cup while playing for Real Madrid. The French defender takes over from Khedira, who lifted the trophy with Germany four years ago.

Another German, Netzer, was the first player to secure the World Cup as a madridista, when the Germans prevailed in 1974. Valdano joined this particular club 12 years later, at the Mexico World Cup, where Argentina triumphed and the Whites' forward plundered four goals. In 1998, France lifted the crown on home soil, with Karembeu in their ranks.

Roberto Carlos's Brazil claimed the title in South Korea and Japan four years on from France's triumph, with the Whites' wing-back playing a key role. In 2010, Spain clinched the world title with five Real Madrid players in their squad. Casillas, who captained the side, Sergio Ramos, Xabi Alonso, Arbeloa and Albiol picked up winners' medals in South Africa.