LazoGanadores de Champions LeagueOtro

Today marks 65 years since the 5th LaLiga title

NEWS STORY. 14/04/2022

Real Madrid won the championship when they beat Zaragoza 1-2.

It's been 65 years since Real Madrid won their fifth LaLiga title. On 14 April 1957, our team made mathematically sure of the title when they beat Zaragoza at the Torrero stadium (1-2) in the penultimate game of the campaign. The madridistas had to come from behind after Wilson had put the hosts ahead on 9'. Mateos stepped up, finding the net himself with 35 and 70 minutes on the clock to bag himself a brace and clinch the title.

Real Madrid ended the 1956/57 league season with a five-point lead over Sevilla and Barcelona, who finished second and third in the table respectively. On an individual level, Alfredo Di Stéfano (31 goals) was the competition's leading marksman. The madridista squad was coached at the time by José Villalonga and they enjoyed three trophies that season, also getting their hands on the European Cup and the Copa Latina.

Video.Today marks 65 years since the 5th LaLiga title