Two years since la Decimocuarta

Real Madrid beat Liverpool 1-0 in Paris on 28 May 2022 to win a historic Champions League with unforgettable comebacks at the Bernabéu.

Two years since  la Decimocuarta

Real Madrid were crowned kings of the European Cup two years ago when they won the 14th European Cup in Paris. Our team defeated Liverpool 1-0 on 28 May 2022 at the Stade de France, also the scene of the eighth. A second-half goal from Vini Jr. and saves from Courtois, MVP of the final, settled the match against the English side.

On the road to the final, the madridistas came up against Inter Milan, Sheriff and Shakhtar Donetsk in the Group Stage. Our team went on to enjoy a spectacular run through the knockout stages. In the Round of 16 they faced PSG and, after losing in Paris, they made a great comeback at the Bernabéu with a hat-trick from Benzema. It was the first magical night of this campaign in our stadium, which would be repeated in the second leg of the quarter-finals against Chelsea. Real Madrid scored in the 80th minute through Rodrygo to send the match into extra time, where Benzema secured their place in the next round.

The semi-final against Manchester City was also dramatically scripted. After losing 4-3 in the first leg, and when all seemed lost in the second leg trailing 1-0 in the 89th minute, the Bernabéu was treated to another epic moment with Rodrygo's brace in just two minutes. Benzema scored the penalty in extra time to take us through to the final of la Decimocuarta. This trophy put the finishing touch to a great season. Led by Ancelotti, who became the first coach to win the European Cup four times, Real Madrid also won La Liga and the Spanish Super Cup.

0-Liverpool: Alisson, Alexander-Arnold, Konaté, Van Dijk, Robertson, Henderson (Keita, 77‘), Fabinho, Thiago (Firmino, 77’), Salah, Mané and Luis Díaz (Diogo Jota, 65').
1- Real Madrid: Courtois, Carvajal, Militao, Alaba, Mendy, Valverde (Camavinga, 85‘), Casemiro, Modrić (Ceballos, 90’), Kroos, Benzema and Vini Jr (Rodrygo, 93').

0-1 (min. 59): Vini Jr.
Referee: Clement Turpin (France)