Real Madrid's 12 Spanish Super Cups

NEWS STORY. 17/01/2022

Real Madrid added to their Spanish Super Cup  trophy haul in Riyadh as the club sealed its 12th success in the tournament. The team ran out 3-2 winners over Barcelona in the semi-final, before strikes from Luka Modrić and Karim Benzema sealed a 2-0 win over Athletic in the showpiece in Saudi Arabia.
The madridistas lifted their first-ever Spanish Super Cup after prevailing in El Clásico. That maiden crown came in September 1988 as Leo Beenhakker’s charges edged Barcelona out in a 3-2 aggregate victory. The following season saw Real Madrid pick up the trophy without having to contest the final after having landed the LaLiga and Copa del Rey double the previous season. The club secured a third successive Super Cup triumph in 1990, when Barcelona once again provided the opposition in a 5-1 aggregate victory.
The Whites also tasted glory in 1993 (4-2 win over Barcelona), 1997 (5-3 victory against Barcelona), 2001 (4-1 winners over Zaragoza), 2003 (4-2 success against Mallorca), 2008 (6-5 win over Valencia), 2012 (4-4 draw against Barcelona but Madrid prevailed on the away goals rule) and 2017 (5-1 win over Barcelona). The tournament format was switched to a four-team competition in the 2019/20 campaign and Real Madrid came out on top in that edition, which was played in Saudi Arabia, after seeing off Valencia in the semis, before overcoming Atlético Madrid on penalties in the final.

Video.Real Madrid's 12 Spanish Super Cups