LazoGanadores de Champions LeagueOtro

Today marks 44 years since the 19th LaLiga title

NEWS STORY. 27/05/2023

On 27 May 1979, Real Madrid clinched the title in the penultimate game of the season.

Today marks 44 years since Real Madrid won their 19th LaLiga title. On the 27th of May 1979, our team made mathematically sure of the trophy in the penultimate clash of the season, despite losing to Sevilla at the Sánchez-Pizjuán (2-1). Sporting's draw with Celta in Gijón meant the madridistas were crowned league champions for a second successive year.

Real Madrid finished the 1978/79 campaign with a four-point lead over second-placed Sporting, having gone unbeaten at the Santiago Bernabéu throughout. The squad coached by Molowny was led by Santillana up top, who hit an impressive 18 goals in the league.

Video.Today marks 44 years since the 19th LaLiga title