LazoGanadores de Champions LeagueOtro

Thirty-four years since the first Spanish Super Cup

NEWS STORY. 29/09/2022

On 29 September 1988, Real Madrid won the title at Camp Nou with a 3-2 aggregate result in the final.

On 29 September 1988, Real Madrid lifted their first Spanish Super Cup. That year, our team booked their place in the showpiece as LaLiga champions, going head-to-head with Copa winners Barcelona.

The first leg took place at the Santiago Bernabéu on 21 September, with Madrid coming away victorious thanks to goals for Míchel and Hugo Sánchez to take the advantage in the final (2-0). Eight days later, the madridistas lost by a single goals at the Camp Nou (2-1), but did enough to lift the trophy.

FIRST LEG (Santiago Bernabéu 21/09/1988)
2- Real Madrid: Buyo, Esteban, Solana, Sanchís, Tendillo, Gallego, Schuster, Martín Vázquez (Gordillo, 65’), Míchel, Butragueño (Paco Llorente, 77’) and Hugo Sánchez.
0- Barcelona: Zubizarreta, López Rekarte, Alexanco, Soler, Julio Alberto (Urbano, 46'), Milla, Robert Fernández, Bakero, Carrasco (Eusebio, 69’), Begiristain and Salinas.

1-0 (min. 51): Míchel.
2-0 (min. 78): Hugo Sánchez.

SECOND LEG (Camp Nou 29/09/1988)
2- Barcelona: Zubizarreta, López Rekarte, Serna, Soler (Lineker, 46’), Urbano, Robert Fernández, Bakero, Eusebio, Carrasco (Milla, 83’), Begiristain and Salinas.
1- Real Madrid: Buyo, Esteban, Sanchís, Tendillo, Solana, Gallego, Schuster, Martín Vázquez, Míchel, Butragueño (Gordillo, 83’) and Hugo Sánchez.

0-1 (min. 15): Butragueño.
1-1 (min. 37): Bakero.
2-1 (min. 78): Bakero.

Video.Thirty-four years since the first Spanish Super Cup