LazoGanadores de Champions LeagueOtro

22 years since the Octava

NEWS STORY. 24/05/2022

On 24 May 2000, Real Madrid overcame Valencia in the first ever all-Spanish European Cup final.

The Saint Denis stadium in Paris was the scene of Real Madrid’s eighth European Cup triumph. The madridistas further enhanced their legendary status by beating Valencia in the first ever all-Spanish final. On 24 May 2000, the team put on a sensational display and went ahead through Morientes, who headed home before the break. McManaman, with an acrobatic volley, and Raúl, who scored his tenth goal of the competition that campaign, were on target for our side.

Real Madrid once again clinched Europe’s most sought-after trophy in Paris, the city where the team won its first ever final in 1956. On 28 May, the Whites will be looking to write another chapter in the club’s history books when they take on Liverpool in the Champions League final in the French capital.

On the road to sealing the Octava, the madridistas faced Porto, Olympiacos and Molde in the first group stage, and then Bayern Munich, Dinamo Kiev and Roseborg in the second. The quarter-finals featured a piece of magic from Redondo at Old Trafford, when the Argentine back-heeled the ball past a defender to set up Raúl in the win over Manchester United. In the semi-final against Bayern Munich, Anelka scored in both the first and second legs to send our side through to the final.

All-Spanish finals
Real Madrid would go on the win the next two all-Spanish finals. Both were against Atletico Madrid and the first of these was also on 24 May (2014, the Décima, Lisbon). The last one was for the Undécima in Milan.
3- Real Madrid: Casillas, Míchel Salgado (Hierro, 85’), Iván Campo, Helguera, Karanka, Roberto Carlos, McManaman, Redondo, Raúl, Anelka (Sanchís, 80’), Morientes (Savio, 72’).
0- Valencia: Cañizares, Angloma, Djukic, Pellegrino, Gerardo (Ilie, 69’), Mendieta, Farinós, Gerard, Kily González, Angulo, Claudio López.

(min. 38): Morientes.
 (min. 66): McManaman.
(min. 74): Raúl.

Referee: Stefano Braschi (Italy).
Stadium: Saint Denis (Paris).

Video.Twentieth anniversary of club's eighth European Cup triumph