Campeones de la Copa en 1974

47th year since the 12th Spanish Cup

See video

NEWS | 29/06/2021

Real Madrid thrashed Barcelona in the final at the Vicente Calderón on 29 June 1974.
Real Madrid won their twelfth Spanish Cup on 29 June 1974 after a brilliant match at the Vicente Calderón against Barcelona. The Clásico was one-sided, with Santillana giving The Whites an early lead after just six minutes. In the second half, RubiñánAguilar and Pirri capped off the 4-0 win and sealed the title for Madrid. Zoco, who retired at the end of the season, came onto the pitch in the last minutes to collect his last trophy as a Real Madrid player.

Luis Molowny's side had a great season with a spectacular record of 26 goals scored in 7 games. In order to reach the final, the madridistas had to get past Betis in the round of 16, Granada in the quarter-finals and UD Las Palmas in the semi-finals.

4-Real Madrid: Miguel Ángel, Rubiñán, Benito, José Luís (Touriño, 85’), Velázquez, Del Bosque, Pirri, Macanás, Aguilar, Grosso (Zoco, 85’) and Santillana.

0-Barcelona: Sadurní, De la Cruz, Gallego, Rifé, Asensi (Martí, 55’), Marcial, Costas, Juan Carlos, Rexach, Clares and Juanito.

 (min. 6): Santillana.
(min. 47): Rubiñán.
(min. 50): Aguilar.
(min. 83): Pirri.