Campeones de la Liga en 1989

Thirty-second anniversary of 24th LaLiga crown

See video

NEWS | 11/06/2021

Real Madrid clinched glory after running out 3-0 winners over
Espanyol at the Santiago Bernabéu.
Today marks the 32nd anniversay of Real Madrid's 24th league title triumph. On 11 June 1989, our team mathematically sealed the league honours after claiming a 3-0 success over Espanyol at the Santiago Bernabéu (3-0), secured courtesy of strikes from Butragueño, Hugo Sánchez and Gordillo. The Whites secured the title on Matchday 36, with two games to spare.

Real Madrid ended the 1988/89 league campaign, which was the fourth of the five successive titles lifted by the Quinta del Buitre, with a five-point buffer on Barcelona. In the individual stakes, 27-goal Hugo Sánchez was the team's leading goalscorer in the competition. That campaign also saw Leo Beenhakker's charges lift the Copa del Rey and the Spanish Super Cup.