Campeones de Europa en 1958

Today marks 62 years since the third European Cup

See video

NEWS | 28/05/2020

On the 28th of May 1958, Real Madrid beat Milan in the first final to be decided in extra-time
Some 62 years ago today, Real Madrid lifted their third European Cup, in the Heysel Stadium (Brussels). Their rivals were Milan, and it would be the first ever final to be decided by extra-time. It was a pulsating affair, which saw the Italian side take the lead on two occasions, but goals from Di Stéfano and Rial were enough to take the game into an extra period.

Gento was the key man in extra-time, netting in a European Cup final for the second year running. Real Madrid's current Honorary President was the scorer of the game-winning goal in the 107th minute. Juanito Alonso also played a vital role, with some tremendous saves in the closing stages.

Road to the final
In the previous rounds, the team led by Carniglia were faultless at home, where they conceded not a single goal, thrashing Royal Antwerp (6-0), Sevilla (8-0) and Hungarian side Vasas (4-0). It was against the latter team that Di Stéfano's iconic jumping goal celebration was captured in a photo that has carved out its place in madridista history. 
3- Real Madrid:
 Alonso, Atienza Il, Santamaría, Lesmes II, Santisteban, Zárraga, Kopa, Joseíto, Di Stéfano, Rial and Gento.
2- Milan: Soldan, Fontana, Maldini, Beraldo, Bergamaschi, Radice, Danova, Liedholm, Schiaffino, Grillo and Cucchiaroni.

0-1 (min. 59): Schiaffino.
1-1 (min. 74): Di Stéfano.
1-2 (min. 77): Grillo.
2-2 (min. 79): Rial.
3-2 (min. 107): Gento.

Referee: Albert Alsteen (Belgium).
Stadium: Heysel (Brussels).