Real Madrid - Atlético de Madrid

Fourth anniversary of La Undécima

See video

NEWS | 28/05/2020

Real Madrid beat Atlético on penalties in the final in Milan.
The San Siro (Milan) was the stage where Real Madrid would be crowned champions of Europe for an eleventh time. On the 28th of May 2016, our team got the better of Atlético de Madrid, the same opposition they had defeated to lift La Décima. Just like in the Lisbon final, Sergio Ramos fired past the rojiblanca goalkeeper to open the scoring, before Atlético levelled the tie with a Carrasco strike in the second half.
The game remained 1-1 throughout extra-time, sending the final into a nail-biting penalty shootout. Lucas Vázquez, Marcelo, Bale and Ramos all scored from the spot, before Juanfran's fourth penalty for the rojiblancos came back off the post. Cristiano Ronaldo made no mistake with the decisive kick, making La Undécima a reality.

The win saw Zidane claim the first of three consecutive Champions League trophies as a coach, on his debut season in the first-team dugout. During the 2015/16 campaign, Real Madrid won more games and conceded less goals than any other side. In the Group Stage, they were paired against PSG, Shakhtar Donetsk and Malmö. The knock-outs saw them come through ties against Roma, Wolfsburg and Manchester City. The leading scorer in that edition of the Champions League was Cristiano Ronaldo, with 16. 

1- Real Madrid:
 Navas, Carvajal (Danilo, 52’), Ramos, Pepe, Marcelo, Casemiro, Modric, Kroos (Isco, 72’), Bale, Cristiano Ronaldo and Benzema (Lucas Vázquez, 77’).
1- Atlético: Oblak, Juanfran, Savic, Godín, Filipe Luis (Lucas Hernández, 109’), Saúl, Gabi, Augusto (Carrasco, 46’), Koke (Thomas, 116’), Griezmann and Fernando Torres.

1-0 (min. 15): Ramos.
1-1 (min. 79): Carrasco.

1-0: Lucas Vázquez, goal.
1-1: Griezmann, goal.
2-1: Marcelo, goal.
2-2: Gabi, goal.
3-2: Bale, goal.
3-3: Saúl, goal.
4-3: Ramos, goal.
4-3: Juanfran, post.
5-3: Cristiano Ronaldo, goal.

Referee: Mark Clattenburg (England).
Stadium: San Siro (Milan).