Campeones octava Copa de Europa

Twentieth anniversary of club's eighth European Cup triumph

See video

NEWS | 24/05/2020

Real Madrid prevailed over Valencia in the European Cup's first all-Spanish final on 24 May 2000.
Paris's Saint-Denis Stadium witnessed Real Madrid lift the club's eighth European Cup crown on 24 May 2000. The Whites added to their continental legacy as they saw off Valencia in the competition's first all-Spanish showpiece. The madridistas produced a dazzling display, in which Fernando Morientes broke the deadlock shortly before the break. Steve McManaman, with an acrobatic effort, and Raúl, whose strike brought his tally in that edition to 10, were on target for the madridistas.

This triumph saw Real Madrid once again taste continental glory in Paris, a city in which the club's European legacy began, when they prevailed in the first-ever final in 1956. En route to the French capital, the madridistas faced Porto, Olympiacos and Molde in the first group stage and Bayern Munich, Dynamo Kiev and Rosenborg in the second. The quarter-final clash at Old Trafford served up Fernando Redondo's iconic piece of skill as the Argentine conjured up a backheel to get past his man, before teeing up Raúl in the win over Manchester United. In the semi-final, Nicolas Anelka proved to be the star of the show as he netted in both legs.
All-Spanish finals
Real Madrid 
went on to claim glory in the following two all-Spanish finals. Both of these were against Atlético, the first was played on 24 May 2014 (La Décima, in Lisbon) and the most recent saw Madrid capture the Undécima in Milan.
3- Real Madrid:
 Casillas, Míchel Salgado (Hierro, 85’), Iván Campo, Helguera, Karanka, Roberto Carlos, McManaman, Redondo, Raúl, Anelka (Sanchís, 80’) , Morientes (Savio, 72’).

0- Valencia: Cañizares, Angloma, Djukic, Pellegrino, Gerardo (Ilie, 69’), Mendieta, Farinós, Gerard, Kily González, Angulo, Claudio López.

1-0 (min. 38): Morientes.
2-0 (min. 66): McManaman.
3-0 (min. 74): Raúl.

Referee: Stefano Braschi (Italy).
Stadium: Saint-Denis (Paris).