Campeones de liga en 1985

Today marks 35 years since the 24th basketball league title

See video

NEWS | 01/05/2020

On the 1st of May 1985, Real Madrid clinched the title by beating Joventut in the third game of the ACB final.
Today is the 35th anniversary of Real Madrid's 24th basketball League title. The team led by Lolo Sainz were crowned champions when they got the better of Joventut 91-83 in the third and final clash of the series. The game will be remembered for Brian Jackson's 30 points, as well as 23 and 10 rebounds for Fernando Martín and a further 22 for Iturriaga.

It was Real Madrid's second consecutive title since the inception of this format in the 1983-84 campaign. The Whites came through the first two phases with a record of 27 wins in 28 games. They were too good for Estudiantes in the quarter-finals, before seeing off Licor 43 in the semis. With the final against Joventut at 1-1, it would all come down to the third match, and the madridistas made no mistake. That team was made up of legendary players including Fernando Martín, Iturriaga, Corbalán, Romay, Rullán and North American stars Brian Jackson and Wayne Robinson, among others.