Campeones de Liga 1977-78

Today marks 42 years since the 18th LaLiga title

See video

NEWS | 16/04/2020

Real Madrid added another trophy to their cabinet by beating Cádiz (2-0).
Forty-two years ago today, Real Madrid were celebrating their eighteenth league title. It came on the 16th of April 1978, led by Luis Molowny, who had taken over as coach just two games into the campaign. The Whites were mathematically assured of lifting the LaLiga trophy with three games still to go, after they got the better of Cádiz (2-0) at the Santiago Bernabéu. Goals by Wolff and Santillana were cause to send the crowd wild.

That team, with stars including Pirri, Juanito, Stielike, Goyo Benito and Del Bosque, were top goal-scorers in LaLiga, netting 77 times, 24 coming from the boots of Santillana. Since that success, Real Madrid have gone on to lift a further 15 LaLiga titles to hit their current figure of 33 and dominate the competition's historic leader board.