Campeones de Liga 1989-1990

Thirtieth anniversary of Real Madrid's 25th LaLiga title

See video

NEWS | 15/04/2020

The Whites, led by the Quinta del Buitre, captured the crown for a fifth season in a row. 
Today marks the 30th anniversary of Real Madrid's 25th LaLiga title triumph. On 15 April 1990, the Whites mathematically clinched glory following a goalless stalemate at Valladolid's Estadio José Zorrilla. This league title, the last of the five successive domestic crowns secured by the Quinta del Buitre, was secured on Matchday 34, with four rounds of fixtures remaining. This team equalled the triumphant streak set by the Madrid side that won five LaLiga titles in a row between 1961 and 1965.

Real Madrid ended the 1989/90 season with a nine-point buffer on Valencia and set a new league goalscoring tally for a single season (107 goals). The team went unbeaten at the Santiago Bernabéu (W17, D2), whilst in the individual stakes, Hugo Sánchez was the league's leading marksman and landed the European Golden Shoe, courtesy of his 38-goal haul. The team was coached by John Toshack.