Real Madrid - Fenerbahçe

Real Madrid get their seventh Final Four in nine years under way on Friday

See video

NEWS | 12/05/2019

The current champions will play CSKA Moscow in the the semifinals (9pm CEST)
Real Madrid is are again among the four best teams in Europe. After eliminating Panathinaikos in the quarterfinals of the Euroleague (3-0), the current champions will play the Final Four from this Friday (9pm CEST) in the Buesa Arena in Vitoria. As in 2018, in the semifinals the Whites will face the CSKA Moscow, second in the Regular Phase, who knocked out Baskonia (3-1). In Belgrade, the Whites beat the Russians 83-92 and qualified for the final. The two most successful clubs in the history of the European Cup will meet again: 10 titles for Real Madrid compared to 7 for CSKA Moscow.
Pablo Laso’s go in to the Final Four for the seventh time in nine seasons (and sixth in the last seven). In Madrid 2015 they were proclaimed champion and won the ninth European Cup, and in the Belgrade 2018 they won the tenth. Since 2010/11 Real Madrid has been runner-up twice (London 2013 and Milan 2014) and twice finished fourth (Barcelona 2011 and Istanbul 2016). The only two season they missed out were 2011/12 and 2015/2016. In the other semifinal, Fenerbahçe will face Anadolu Efes (Friday, 6pm). The final of the Euroleague will be held on Sunday, May 19, at 8:30pm, while the third and fourth place will take place at 5:30pm.
Vitoria, talisman
Real Madrid
know perfectly well the Buesa Arena and Vitoria, a city in which they have won every finals they’ve played: 3 in the Copa del Rey (1967, 1971 and 2017), 2 of Super Cup (2013 and 2014) and 2 Leagues in the fourth (2018) and fifth game (2005). The Whites have experienced a lot of good times on the court in Alava. The trey by Herreros to cap an incredible comeback against TAU and get the League in the 2014-15 season, the exhibition by Rudy in the fourth game last year with 27 points in 25 minutes that gave Laso league title number 34, or the Copa del Rey in 2017, one of the most exciting in history and in which Llull was MVP. Real Madrid will look to lift the eleventh there.