LazoGanadores de Champions LeagueOtro
Alfredo Di Stéfano

On this day, the club lifted its first Intercontinental Cup


NEWS | 04/09/2018

Real Madrid captured the club's maiden world crown in the 1960 showpiece against Peñarol.
On 4 September 1960, Real Madrid secured the first of the club's six world champion titles. This victory came against Montevideo-based Peñarol in the old Intercontinental Cup, which was contested between the European Cup and Copa Libertadores holders. The Whites saw off the Uruguayan outfit in a two-legged final, the first leg of which took place on 3 July 1960 at Peñarol's ground and ended in a goalless stalemate.

In the return leg, Real Madrid ran out comfortable 5-1 winners in front of their fans. The outcome of the contest was decided within the first 10 minutes, thanks to a Puskas double and a Di Stéfano goal, which came after the latter diverted a shot from the Hungarian forward into the back of the net. Herrera and Gento rounded off the scoring for the hosts.
Six-time world champions
Fifty-eight years on from that triumph, Real Madrid have six world crowns to their name: a trio of which came under the Intercontinetal Cup format, whilst the remaining three were secured under the current format. This coming December sees the Whites head to the United Arab Emirates in search of a seventh world title.

5-Real Madrid: Domínguez, Marquitos, Santamaría, Pachín, Vidal, Zárraga, Herrera, Del Sol, Di Stéfano, Puskas, Gento.
1-Peñarol: Maidana, Pino, William Martínez, Majewski, Salvador, Aguerre, Cubilla, Linazza, Hohberg, Spencer, Borges.

1-0 (3'): Puskas.
2-0 (4'): Di Stéfano.
3-0 (9'): Puskas.
4-0 (44'): Herrera.
5-0 (51'): Gento.
5-1 (66'): Spencer.

Referee: Ken Aston (England).
Stadium: Santiago Bernabéu.