2ª Copa de Europa

How the second European Cup was won

See video

NEWS | 16/05/2014

Real Madrid saw off Fiorentina in the Santiago Bernabéu.
Real Madrid defended their title as European champions and also added Raymond Kopa to the squad in the 1956/57 season. In order to win the title, the Whites had to overcome Rapid Vienna in a tough first round tie, which needed to be decided with a playoff match. Following that they played Nice and Manchester United in the quarter-finals and semi-finals respectively.

The final was held in the Santiago Bernabéu and ended with Real Madrid celebrations. Fiorentina stiffled the home side's attack until midway through the second half, when Di Stéfano made it 1-0 from the penalty spot. Gento took just six minutes to double the lead and thereby sealed Real Madrid's status as the best team on the continent. The squad did a lap of honour to receive the applause of the Bernabéu.

2- Real Madrid: Alonso, Torres, Marquitos, Lesmes, Muñoz,
Zárraga, Kopa, Mateos, Di Stefano, Rial and Gento.
0- Fiorentina: Sarti, Magnini, Orzan, Cervato, Scaramucci, Bizzarri, Segato, Julinho, Gratton, Virgili and Montuori.

1-0 (min. 70): Di Stéfano.
2-0 (min. 76): Gento.

Referee: Leo Horn (Holland).
Stadium: Santiago Bernabéu (Madrid).
Date: 30/05/1957.